Sports Awards in India

Major Dhyanchand

Sports Awards in India

National Sports Day is celebrated every year in India on August 29 on Dhyanchand’s birthday. National Sports Awards are also distributed on this day. This time the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna para athlete Deepa Malik, the country’s largest sports award, was given. Deepa is the first female para athlete to receive this award. Apart from Deepa, the name of wrestler Bajrang Poonia was also selected for Khel Ratna but Bajrang could not attend the award ceremony due to being out of the country. Let’s know how many sports awards are there

Major Dhyanchand

19 players got Arjuna Award

President Ramnath Kovind honored many sportsperson and coaches on the occasion of National Sports Awards 2019. This time two people have been honored with Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna and 19 people with Arjuna Award. At the same time 3 coaches were awarded for the regular category of Dronacharya Award. Four people were honored with the Dronacharya Award (Life Time Category). Five people were honored with Dhyanchand Award.


How many sports awards are held in India

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna

According to the Sports Ministry website, the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award is India’s highest sports award. The award is named after former Prime Minister of India, Rajiv Gandhi. It is given to the best player of India every year, although the award player is selected on the basis of several criteria. The player who wins this award can be from any field.


Arjun Award

Arjuna Award is the second highest award after Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna. It is also given on the basis of the past four years’ performance of the players. The Arjuna Award was instituted in 1961. So far 719 players have been awarded this award. In this, the player gets a small statue, certificate and a cash prize of five lakh rupees.

Dronacharya Award

As the name suggests, this award is given not to the player but to his coach. Sports coaches who prepare medal winners are honored with this award. The award was instituted in 1985. A total of 107 Gurus have received this award so far. In this, the coach gets a small statue, certificate and a cash prize of five lakh rupees.


Dhyan Chand Award

Those who have supported whole life for the development of the game are honored with this award. The award was instituted in 2002. A total of 56 people have received this honor so far. It also has a small statue, certificate and a cash prize of five lakh rupees.

Sports Awards India 2020

Sports Awards of India 2020 will be held on 29 August 2020


Firoz Shah Kotla Stadium to be renamed as Arun Jatley Stadium

On Tuesday DDCA decided to name the Ferozeshah Kotla Stadium after its former chairman Arun Jaitley, who died on Saturday. When Jaitley was the chairman of DDCA, many talented players from Delhi and the surrounding region shone internationally.

The Delhi and District Cricket Association (DDCA) on Tuesday decided to name the Ferozeshah Kotla stadium after its former president and former finance minister of the country, Arun Jaitley, who died on Saturday last week. This stadium will now be known as Arun Jaitley Stadium. It will be renamed in a ceremony on 12 September.


DDCA tweeted, ‘Feroze Shah Kotla will be renamed to Arun Jaitley Stadium. However, the grounds will remain named Ferozeshah Kotla. The ceremony to change the name of Delhi’s historic cricket stadium will be held on 12 September and on the same day a stand of the stadium will be named after Virat Kohli.

error: checked